Inistioge

This is a charming village with a tree-lined square, lying in a pretty part of the Nore valley where the river winds between woodfed banks flanked by hills. An Augustinian priory was founded here in 1210 by Thomas Fitzgerald, and the nave, tower and adjoining Lady Chapel remain. Some monuments of the tighe family are in the tower, including an effigy by flaxman of Mrs Mary Tighe the authoress of Psyche. The former home of the tighes, Woodstock House, is in a wooded demesne south of the village. The house was damaged by fire in 1922, but the fine formal gardens can still be enjoyed. On a rock above the river at the village are the remains of a Norman motte and bailey castle.

 Activities in Inistioge

Walking Tours Guided
Inistioge Walking Group

 


 
 
 
 © IrishAbroad.com 2009